December Reading Recap + Reading Resolutions

These monthly recaps have quickly gotten out of hand! I’ve read so much to catch up lately that I won’t bore you with a huge post. But in case you’re wondering, here’s what I read to finish off 2012:

Dec2012reads

1. The Fairy Ring: Or Elsie and Frances Fool the World – Mary Losure
2. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You – Ally Carter
3. Friends with Boys – Faith Erin Hicks
4. My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece – Annabel Pitcher
5. Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy – Ally Carter
6. At Home: A Short History of Private Life – Bill Bryson
7. The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4) – Lemony Snicket
8. Don’t Judge a Girl By Her Cover – Ally Carter
9. The Nutcracker – E.T.A. Hoffmann, illustrated by Maurice Sendak
10. Grave Mercy – Robin LaFevers

Last month was a great month for reading. I really loved everything I read/listened to. I have been reading all the Ally Carter books (about a boarding school for teenage spies) because they are super popular at my library and I’m having a release party for the latest Heist Society book next month. I also tried to read more widely in December so I included some nonfiction (The Fairy Ring), nonfiction on audio (At Home), a graphic novel (Friends with Boys) and some historical fiction with a tinge of fantasy (Grave Mercy). I also loved Maurice Sendak’s Nutcracker–who knew that the Nutcracker actually had a complete plot! I’d recommend all these titles.

This year I’ve made a couple resolutions related to my reading habits.

  • Read 100 books
  • Read more widely (more adult titles, a classic or 2, genres other than realistic romantic comedies!)
  • Read more books to recommend to 12 year old boys (The number one question I’m asked at work is what to recommend to these guys and I only have a handful of options)
  • Read more of the books that my teens recommend to me (which should help me accomplish all the previous goals)

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Monthly recap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December Reading Recap + Reading Resolutions

  1. Jessica says:

    I wish I read as much as you! So inspiring.

  2. Megan says:

    I agree with Jessica… you’re inspiring me to read more this year!

  3. Suzy Marie says:

    Yeah, what everyone else said. I wish I read as much as you!

  4. Ting says:

    When I was younger I read the miserable mill and love it!

Leave a Reply

