My random weekend: Chatty old ladies, impromptu wine tasting, Abraham Lincoln and mermaids

This weekend I…

Drove around trying to find a place to get a flu shot. Ended up at Target (surprise surprise!).

While poking around the clothing section, I made eye contact with an old lady who proceeded to talk to me for 20 minutes. Notice that I don’t use the word “conversation” which would imply 2  people talking to each other. This was more me nodding along as she told me about her childhood and 9 brothers and sisters, and then she criticized the sweater I was buying for being too expensive. There is something about my face that seems to prompt complete strangers to tell me their life stories…(did I ever write about the time a woman spent half an hour telling me about her life-threatening corn allergy at the library?)

Once I managed to extricate myself from the situation and pay for my supposedly overpriced sweater, I walked across the street to the liquor store to pick up some wine for Thanksgiving. They were having some kind of wine tasting in the back of the store, and the owner saw me browsing and invited me over and offered me some free wine! Was the universe rewarding me for patiently listening to that old woman? I like to think so.

That night we went to see Lincoln. Jeff is a huge American history buff and has been looking forward to this for AGES. When we got to the theater there was a HUGE line winding through the lobby. Obviously it was for Twilight, right? WRONG! It was for Lincoln! There is hope for America yet folks.

Yesterday I baked pumpkin spice cookies and finished reading Sailor Twain by Mark Siegel–a gorgeous graphic novel about a sailor that falls for a  mermaid. It was beautiful and complex (so much so that I had to read the ending twice because I was so confused…and I still don’t quite get what happened. Have any of you read it?). I was sold when I read the blurb on the cover that promised erotically charged drawings. Check it out:

Gorgeous, right?  I highly recommend this book.

Anyway, hope you all had a lovely weekend as well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My random weekend: Chatty old ladies, impromptu wine tasting, Abraham Lincoln and mermaids

  1. Jessica says:

    This sounds like a very fun weekend and I want to see that movie! Lincoln, not Twilight. Never Twilight.

  2. suzymarie56 says:

    That always happens to me too! People always want to talk to me! Public transport, check. Football match, check. I like to think that we look friendly and trustworthy and that’s the reason everyone wants to talk to us 🙂

Leave a Reply

