11 Things

Suzy tagged me to do an 11 Things quiz and it’s taken me ages but I’ve FINALLY gotten around to finishing it! I love these things!

1. If you could be any musical instrument, what would you be?

This is a great question! I was a band geek in high school. I played the clarinet and I definitely think it’s fitting. The clarinet can go from playing a really really looooooooow note to a really really high note in a flash, and as much as I hate to admit it, I can be the queen of mood swing city!

Also, who wouldn’t want to be a clarinet after hearing that opening solo from Rhapsody in Blue?

2. What is the best thing about you?

Hmm this is a tough one. I suppose one of the best things about me is that I am very caring. I like to make sure that everyone I love is taken care of and has everything they need.

3. Tell me a weird fact about yourself.

When I met my current boyfriend….I was engaged to someone else. We are real life Jim and Pam (minus the whole getting married and having 2 babies and working at a paper supply company thing…yep).

4. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Oh goodness…I love food so much so this is really difficult. Chocolate chip cookies? Cereal? Scrambled eggs and bacon? Key lime pie? Oooh key lime pie…I just may have to go with that.

5. What is your favourite smell?

It’s a toss up between cookies baking and book smell.

6. What is something that you really want but can’t afford?

To move back home to Colorado. Also, to pay back all of my ridiculous student loan debt!

7. Name one item you’d put in Room 101.

I’m so glad that Sarah googled what this meant! One of my hugest pet peeves is YA books with terrible covers, particularly covers with faces on them. I prefer simple, graphic designs. I hate books with random models on them because they never match what I think the character should look like, they get dated SO quickly, and I think they perpetuate unrealistic expectations about beauty. Also they can be so embarrassing to carry around. I wish publishers would respect young adults enough to give their books beautiful covers!

8. If you were president/prime minister, what would be your first issue to tackle/policy to implement?

Oh where to begin…I would definitely tackle reproductive rights (making sure everyone had insurance and access to sex education and birth control) and I would legalize gay marriage for sure. I would also completely revamp the way the higher education and student loans are handled–higher education should be much less expensive and we need to implement a system that doesn’t force young people to start their lives with thousands of dollars in crippling debt.

9. What is the best compliment you have ever been given?

I recently had a teen tell me I was “an excellent reference librarian” after I recommended and helped her find some books. It was just a small compliment but it really meant a lot.

10. Describe your style.

Classic with a splash of girly and a side of lazy. It’s a little bit random and it’s changed a bit recently since I’ve had to buy a lot of new work appropriate clothes. I tend to wear a lot of a-line dresses with either boots or flats. I like to spice it up with bright color combinations though. And I’ll be completely honest here…on days when all I have to do is run to the store or something, the best you’ll get from me is a t-shirt and jeans. (And I put my PJ pants right back on as soon as I get home!)

11. When was the last time you laughed until you cried?

I laugh until I cry at least once a day. And usually at one of my own bad jokes. But the best time recently was when I re-watched this scene from Parks and Rec. I freakin love Jerry!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 11 Things

  1. suzymarie56 says:

    Thank you for answering my questions! I liked your answers very much 🙂 and I’m glad you ‘got’ the instrument question because I think some others thought it was weird haha. Also, real life Jim and Pam?!?! That is too cool.

  2. What a great post. I love your answer that someone called you an “excellent reference librarian.” That is a great compliment.
    xo,
    nancy

  3. Jessica says:

    This is an awesome set of questions.

Leave a Reply

