Interjections!

Anyone else remember this classic Schoolhouse Rock number on interjections? Not nearly as good or as popular as “Conjunction Junction” or “Lolly, Lolly, Lolly Get Your Adverbs Here” but still pretty stellar and informative.

(UK friends…do you guys have any idea what I’m talking about)

Here’s the video if you’d like to relive your childhood for a moment/be thoroughly entertained.

I was thinking about interjections yesterday at the library. According to the song, an interjection is something you say apart from a regular sentence to show excitement or emotion. Like “Shoot!” or “Hey!” or “WTF?!” or whatever.

Now I generally just let out a nice “Good Lord!” or “Holy crap!” or “Sonofa!” when the occasion calls for it, nothing too exciting, but after yesterday I’m thinking I may need to add some spice to my vocabulary.

I was helping an elderly woman sign up for an online account on a website yesterday. It was taking forever, and every username she picked was already in use and she was getting a bit frustrated. After learning that the fourth username we tried was already in use, she threw her hands in the air (not really, but it makes for a better mental picture) and yelled “Well, GREAT CAESAR’S GHOST!”

And though we were in the middle of the library where silence is golden, this woman was not afraid to just shout out a nice thick and hearty interjection. In any other circumstance, I probably would have been irritated, but I was just so taken aback, and so impressed by the creativity and originality of her utterance, that I nearly laughed out loud. It basically made my day.

In the end, we found a username that worked, and she was able to get on the website and sign up for their sweepstakes. I really hope she wins, but either way, I’d love to hear what she shouts when she gets the news.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interjections!

  1. Courtney says:

    Thanks for this! I always loved School House Rock. “Great Caesar’s ghost” is a great interjection. I always want to call them ejaculations but that word…doesn’t really mean that any more. 🙂

  2. suzymarie56 says:

    No I have no idea what you’re talking about haha. The interjection was hilarious though! I feel her pain, I hate that whole username debacle. It’s like, how specific do I need to be here!? You end up with something like ‘suzy_marie).7664_1s’ which obviously you will NEVER remember.

    • I know! And it was so awkward because she kept trying to pick a regular name. “Elaine” and “Priscilla” were her first choices and I kept trying to get her to add numbers but she wasn’t having it!

Leave a Reply

