When it rains, it pours.

Remember those 2 job interviews I had last week?

Well….I have been offered both jobs!

And on top of that, Jeff has an interview scheduled for a (very hard to come by) full-time teaching job at a college out of state.

While I’m incredibly excited and proud of both of us, I can’t be fully relieved until I make a decision between the two and we see how Jeff’s interview goes.

And have I mentioned that I am an incredibly indecisive person?

Decision making

This is what comes up when you look up “decision” in Google Image Search. This must be exactly what I look like right now!

I think I’ve pretty much made my mind up, but it’s tough because the job I think I want more (Job B) pays less than the other one (Job A). But Job B has also been a lot more professional about everything than Job A, and that’s played a huge factor in my decision making.

I’m happy to have one more day at the Children’s Lit Association conference to distract myself, and I’ve been able to talk to all my friends and a couple of my professors about the whole thing at the conference too which has been helpful.

The other issue is that there’s a chance that I could accept a job, and then Jeff may get offered a job (with a possibly sweeter paycheck) 2 weeks later. I might then have to back out and I would hate to do that….

Still, having multiple job offers to choose from is a much better problem then being unemployed so I can’t complain too much, but I will be so happy once a decision is made and we can start planning for a new chapter.

Any advice?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When it rains, it pours.

  1. Go with your heart. As long as Job B’s salary is enough to pay the bills, job satisfaction and a professional employer rate over money, for me. I’ve been in well paid jobs and the money simply did not make up for the downsides.

    But, yes – how exciting to have the choice!

  2. suzymarie56 says:

    The same thing just happened to me, it’s actually ridiculous isn’t it! I had this really stressful few hours where I HAD to make a decision and so I talked to basically everyone I knew about it haha. I agree with Sarah though, you should go with you heart. And I also stressed about the whole not wanting to back out thing… but you’ve got to be ruthless at the moment because the job market sucks. I hope you get it all sorted, but congrats to you both 🙂

    • Thanks for the advice! I cannot believe that you had the same thing happen–crazy! I agree with you though…I know I could do either job and I’d probably be happy with either, but I am definitely more excited about Job B so I think I’m going to go for it!

  3. Jessica says:

    Congrats on the job offers! I’m sure you’ll figure out which is best for you!

    As for Colorado, my sister lives in Fort Collins and that’s where I’ll be staying, but I’ll be all over Colorado. And yes! I am seeing my all time favorite band, the Avett Brothers @ red rocks and one of my other favorite bands is opening for them (City & Colour) and I’m also seeing a band called River City Extension at a tiny venue in Denver. I’m so excited about red rocks. I keep looking at photos from there and it’s going to be the best! Where are you from?

  4. katherine says:

    congrats! that is so awesome – and amazing. go with your heart! it can be a hard decision, but in the end, a higher paying job that ends up being terrible is MUCH worse.

  5. ShyScout says:

    Congrats!

    Decisions, decisions. Eeeep! I am very indecisive too. All I can say is follow your heart. Everything will work out one way or another. You are obviously quite talented and will be able to make whichever you choose or whatever happens work :]

  6. Maggey Grace says:

    I agree! Go with your heart! I think you know what you want (job B) and don’t let money deter you 😉

  7. Megan says:

    Well, congrats! That is really exciting, but also stressful – I am super indecisive as well. You’ll choose the right one in the end 🙂

  8. vicki says:

    aw congrats hun! thats amazing!! gosh picking between the two will be hard. but go with your gut and dont think about the money. xo

Leave a Reply

