Spring is like a perhaps hand

April is National Poetry Month, so I thought I’d share a poem today. I’ve never been a big poetry person, but as an English major there was no escaping it, and I managed to find a few poets that I truly love.

My first instinct was to post some T.S. Eliot. I was thinking The Wasteland as its infamous opening line (“April is the cruelest month…”) seemed so apt, especially considering the funks I’ve been finding myself in over the past few weeks. As a pessimist, I have always been an Eliot fan.

But I didn’t think it was quite fair to be so depressing. Especially because the sun is out today and it’s Monday and why not start things off with a clean slate?

So then I thought of e.e. cummings. I’ve been an e.e. cummings fan since high school. I like how even though his poems often seem like gobbledygook, something about their rhythm and their sounds and how they feel as they trip off your tongue often conveys some sort of meaning, even if the words themselves don’t make sense. Enjoy!

 

Spring is like a perhaps hand  – e.e. cummings

Spring is like a perhaps hand
(which comes carefully
out of Nowhere)arranging
a window,into which people look(while
people stare
arranging and changing placing
carefully there a strange
thing and a known thing here)and

changing everything carefully

spring is like a perhaps
Hand in a window
(carefully to
and from moving New and
Old things,while
people stare carefully
moving a perhaps
fraction of flower here placing
an inch of air there)and

without breaking anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring is like a perhaps hand

  1. Jas says:

    thanks for sharing! i love spring 🙂

  2. suzymarie56 says:

    This is such a lovely poem. It seemed to not make any sense, but also to make complete sense, all at the same time.

  3. maria says:

    love this! thanks for sharing, very inspiring..i’ve always loved poetry!

  4. Maggey Grace says:

    this is such a beautiful poem! i love ee cummings. i have never read this one, so it was a real treat to read something new by him. it’s sunny and spring-y outside at this exact moment and this poem felt perfect for the day. thank you for your comment:)

  5. Amber Rose says:

    I’m really glad you selected this poem! I used to have the hardest time with ee cummings. I think my favorite is (of course) anyone lived in a pretty how town. I remember reading it in high school and spending the entire class discussing meanings with the class.

  6. Megan says:

    I love e.e. cummings. Great poem 🙂

  7. Suzie Q says:

    Such a lovely poem. I love cummings. Thanks for sharing!

    Check out my $50 Shabby Apple Gift card GIVEAWAY!

    xoxo,
    Suzie Q
    Style Cue by Suzie Q

  8. Marisa says:

    Oh e.e. cummings….you always manage to win my heart over:) Spring is such a beautiful time of year…and this is such a perfect selection! xx

Leave a Reply

