Oscar the Grouch

So. The Oscars are happening this Sunday.

And instead of being like !!!!! I’m feeling more like …..

Last year’s Oscar’s were so boooooooooring and I’m not feeling very enthusiastic about the whole thing this year. I used to get totally jazzed about the Oscar’s. The boyf and I would even dress up in some finery and crack open a bottle of wine and be all fancy and things. This year it’s going to be more like sweatpants and hot chocolate.


Why do the Oscar’s suck?

1. Nothing’s a surprise

Because so many award shows take place before the Academy Awards, the same people start winning and the whole Awards extravaganza becomes super predictable. The last time there was a big shocker was when Sean Penn won for Milk (over Mickey Rourke for The Wrestler) and I was pretty frickin happy because Milk was AMAZING and he totally deserved it.

2. The nominees this year are pretty meh.

Sure, I loved Midnight in Paris like woah, but will it win Best Picture. Nope.

The Artist is clearly going to win, and I’m okay with that. I saw it and wanted to love it….but I didn’t. Yes, I liked it a lot. But did it move me? Not particularly. Did I get teary-eyed? Nope. Oh how I wanted to adore it but it was just not quite everything I wanted it to be. That said, I thought Jean Dujardin was fabulous, Uggie stole my heart, and the sound editing was great. It just didn’t make my heart go pitter patter if you know what I mean. I would be good friends with this movie, but we could never be BFFs4eva or anything.

winning!

I saw The Descendents and thought Clooney and Shaylene Woodley were SO Good in it. But again, the movie didn’t move me as much as I expected it to from all the buzz. Maybe my problem with these movies unrealistic expectations.

Moneyball and Hugo were both excellent, and both did manage to tug at my frigid heartstrings, but will either win? No. Hugo got so many nominations (and deservedly so) but I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those always the bridesmaid but never the bride situations.

Poor Hugo.

I enjoyed The Help as well but Best Picture of the year? Not in my book.

And Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close??? No no no. No I did not see the movie, but I think I’ve already established my feelings on that one loud and clear. No.

I wanted to see Tree of Life but we never got around to it and the hold list for it at the library is a million miles long, so alas, I cannot offer an opinion.

And War Horse I flat out refused to see. I absolutely cannot deal with animal movies. I swear, in 99% of movies about animals, the animals either a) get killed or seriously injured or b) get lost. (Or even worse–lost from their moms!). I have become emotionally hardened in recent years and I rarely cry at things anymore, but that frickin ASPCA commericial with Sarah McLachlan is the one thing that totally gets me and I have to change the channel or leave the room if it comes on! So no, I have a soft spot for animals and I did not want to see this movie.

3. And don’t even get me started on the whole 10 nominees for best picture thing.

ridiculousness!

Oh NO they didn’t. This totally cheapens the award. Guys…I can’t even handle it.

4. No Best Song performances

REALLY?! Come on. The Muppets would have saved you, Academy!

All my complaining aside, you know I’m still going to watch this whole fandango and I’ll tell you why.

1. Pretty dresses

2. That slight possibility that something crazypants will happen.

3. Billy Crystal–one of the few people I trust to at least make this thing mildly entertaining.

Help us, Billy!

4. Pretty dresses. Really, I would just 4 hours of celebrities walking around in fancy gowns.

Alright, Academy Awards. As you can see, I’ve set the bar pretty darn low. Hit me with your best shot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oscar the Grouch

  1. suzymarie56 says:

    How similar our blogs are! Both talked about the Oscars, both done a feature on the best around the web type things, and both (WONDERFULLY) feature Ryan Gosling. How fabulous, I’ll be sticking around 🙂

    How absolutely, wonderfully, fabulously amazing is Ryan Gosling? I hope you agree haha.

  2. Aw, glad to hear it! I recently stumbled upon your blog and I was glad I did!

    That Ryan Gosling just never ceases to amaze me. Even when he’s in an awful movie…he’s just so pretty to look at!

Leave a Reply

