First things first: January recap

First post! I’m bad at beginnings so let’s get this bad boy started in medias res, as though we’re already old friends, with a little recap of what I was up to this past month.

Whatcha reading?

Now that I’m done with my children’s lit classes and thus no longer beholden to a syllabus, I made several 2012 reading resolutions to help keep me focused. I’m not used to all this freedom, people! So each month I am going to A) Read at least one adult book and B) Read at least one book that I already own. With 3 bookshelves full of stuff I haven’t read yet, I still can’t stop myself from checking out library books all the time. Time to get crack-a-lackin on those puppies!

Anyway…here’s what I read this month:

1. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

So. Much. Awesome. I adored Anna and the French Kiss but I think I loved Lola even more. Perkins manages to write romance with just the right amount of angst, drama and humor which is surprisingly hard to find in YA.

2. Zebrafish by Peter H. Reynolds and Fablevision

Vita starts a band called Zebrafish, and the band decides to hold a concert to raise funds for cancer research to help fellow member Tanya who suffers from leukemia. I was glad that this book didn’t focus on Tanya’s illness but rather on the power Vita and her friends have to make a positive difference in the world. However, my overall feeling when I was done was… meh. It was alright, it just lacking…something that I couldn’t quite put my finger on.

3. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me and Other Concerns by Mindy Kaling

A book for adults! Yay! I love Mindy Kaling and I flew through this book. While I was hoping for a little more insider scoop on The Office I loved reading about her chubby childhood and teen years. Mindy Kaling is one of the few celebs who could totally write YA and I would eat that shiz up without even rolling my eyes.

4. Spoiled by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

I was totally in the mood for a guilty pleasure read before embarking on TFIOS, and this book was perfect. Like an episode of Gossip Girl that makes fun of itself the whole time. Written by the creaters of the Go Fug Yourself website, this book was as hilarious and mischievious as one would expect.

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Perfection. John Green’s best yet. Normally I would never pick up a Cancer Book, but John Green manages to write about kids with cancer in a real, non-Nicholas-Sparks way. I don’t know what to say about this book…just read it! You will not be disappointed. (And FYI: the title of this blog was inspired by a line in the book! If you figured that out before this, you win!)

6. The Notorious Benedict Arnold by Steve Sheinkin

I read this book for a nonfiction book group that a couple of my Simmons friends run…and then I didn’t end up attending because the weather was so bad and I didn’t finish on time. But I did it! I read a nonfiction book! And my American-history-nerd boyfriend was so proud! It took me a little while to get into this book, but once the story got going, I was hooked. After hearing Sheinkin speak at the Horn Book awards, I was especially interested. My favorite moments in the text were the moments in which he revealed his own curiousity, and grappled to come to terms some of the crazy things Arnold did. Sheinkin skillfully examines Benedict Arnold’s personality to help readers understand the motives behind his behavior. And let me just say–the ending was perfect.

7. The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance – Elna Baker

Another adult book! I’d been wanting to read this book ever since I heard Baker speak on a live edition of Marc Maron’s WTF podcast. It was not quite what I was expecting, but an interesting read nonetheless. I especially enjoyed the section where Baker talks about her experience working as a “nurse” at the doll adoption center at FAO Schwartz. Hands down the funniest part of the book.

Whatcha watching?

1. DOCTOR WHO!!!!

Doctor + Rose = <3

As the only nerdy Anglophiles on the planet who had not yet done so, Jeff and Idecided that we needed to start watching Doctor Who. We quickly became hooked, and breezed through the first season with Christopher Eccleston, and season 2 with David Tennant. And can I just say, ROSE + THE DOCTOR = LOVE4EVA! I was super upset by the end of Season 2, although I enjoyed all of the parallels the last episode had with Philip Pullman’s The Amber Spyglass (which my handsome and clever boyfriend pointed out to me). We just started season 3 and though I was very resistant to Martha (aka Not Rose. HMPH.) I’m starting to warm up to her a little.

2. Downtown Abbey – Season 2

Again, I am a nerdy Anglophile and also in love with period pieces and the 1910s (stemming from my middle school obsession with Titanic) and therefore I watch and love Downton Abbey. So. Good.

3. Awful, awful reality television

I LOVE bad tv. I religiously tivo Teen Mom and Mob Wives and I have finally caught up on both.

Whatcha doing?

1. My last semester of grad school!

That’s right, y’all! This is it. I am one class away from having an MA in Children’s Literature and an MS in Library Science! I’m taking a library science class about nonfiction sources for children and then I’m done!

2. Work, work, work work work.

I have two jobs. And a volunteer position. I work a lot.

3. Starting a blog!

After talking about starting a blog for forever, I finally decided to take the plunge. Let’s do this blog-land!

This entry was posted in Monthly recap, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

