Children’s Lit excitement

A couple of exciting goings on in the world of children’s literature this week:

1. The 2012 Boston Globe Horn Book award winners were announced!

Boston Globe Horn Book Award 2012 winners

The BGHB awards are always exciting because they occur long after ALA’s Youth Media Award season (Newbery/Caldecott/Printz/etc.), and the BGHB jury always manages to award titles that are more obscure or have just gotten less buzz in the children’s lit community and blogosphere. I’ve gotten to attend the award ceremony for the past three years, so the BGHB awards will always have a special place in my heart.

Picturebook winner: Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen

Picturebook honor winners: And Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano, illustrated by Erin E. Stead and And the Soldiers Sang by J. Patrick Lewis, illustrated by Gary Kelley

Fiction award winner: No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

Fiction honors: Life: An Exploded Diagram by Mal Peet and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Nonfiction winner: Chuck Close: Face Book, written and illustrated by Chuck Close

Nonfiction honors: Georgia in Hawaii: When Georgia O’Keeffe Painted What She Pleased by Amy Novesky, illustrated by Yuyi Morales (oh I am swooning over the cover of this one!) and The Elephant Scientist by Caitlin O’Connell & Donna M. Jackson, photographs by Caitlin O’Connell and Timothy Rodwell

Boston Globe Horn Book 2012 Honor Winners

I’m looking forward to checking out all the winners and honor books. The only one I’ve read is Extra Yarn which is fabulous. Code Name Verity just came in for me at the library and I can’t wait to read it!

2. The Children’s Literature Association’s annual conference at Simmons!

ChLA 2012 logo by David Macaulay

When I heard that ChLA was going to be held in Boston this year, I knew I needed to submit a paper proposal. I need to soak up as much children’s lit goodness as I can before I leave Boston, right? Plus the conference theme, Literary Slipstreams, sounds super interesting. I was lucky enough to have a paper I wrote for my Victorian Literature class, The Island of Misfit Boys: Liminality and Agency in Treasure Island, selected!

I’m really looking forward to my panel, which has been titled Islands in the Stream (we Simmons folk have a sense of humor, you see). In addition to my paper, there are two other presenters who will be discussing Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens and Scott O’Dell’s Island of the Blue Dolphins. I have been a mad woman trying to read these books and edit my paper so I will be fully prepared to present.

I’m nervous, but very excited. I’ve been informed that many of the big names in the children’s lit world, including many people who I’ve cited in my own papers, will be attending the conference. It’s strange to think that someone I’ve cited could be sitting in the audience of my panel! I think I better do some Google Image searching so I know what these people look like and I don’t embarrass myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Children’s Lit excitement

  1. katherine says:

    that chuck close book looks really interesting. one of my college classmate’s dad was an illustrator for childrens books – it was a really intersting job.

  2. Megan says:

    How exciting that your paper was selected! Good luck :)

Leave a Reply

